Are electronic cigarettes a smoking cessation product?
No. The FDA has not approved e-cigarettes as a smoking cessation product.
Are electronic cigarettes safe?
The e-cigarette industry will argue that since there is no tobacco in their products they are safer to use than traditional tobacco products. However, e-Liquid does contain nicotine, which is a very addictive and harmful drug. The long term affects of ‘vaping’ nicotine and the other chemical components of the juice are not yet known, but a recent study published by the Centers for Disease Control found a dramatic increase in e-cigarette related calls to Poison Control Centers.
Are electronic cigarettes regulated in Utah?
Yes. Utah has included electronic cigarettes as part of their Utah Indoor Clean Air Act. Additionally, Davis County has adopted an Electronic Smoking Device Regulation that oversees the selling and manufacturing of E-liquid within the County.
Are there any restrictions on where I can ‘vape’?
The Utah Indoor Clean Air Act prohibits the use of electronic cigarettes in the same places that tobacco products are prohibited. This means ‘vaping’ is not allowed in any building with public access. It is also not allowed within 25 feet of any door, intake, window, or other opening into a public building.
An exception exists to this rule for facilities that have over 75% of their gross sales coming from electronic cigarettes and substances used with them. These facilities are allowed to let customers sample their products, but if they use this exception, no person under the age of 19 may enter any part of their establishment.
Who needs a permit from the health department for selling electronic cigarettes?
The Electronic Smoking Device Regulation applies to all who sell or manufacture e-liquid in Davis County; however, only those who manufacture (i.e. mixing, re-packaging, or re-sizing) e-Liquid in Davis County need to obtain a permit.
How do I obtain an Electronic Smoking Device Facility Permit?
In order to obtain a permit you must submit a Electronic Smoking Devices Facility Permit Application and pay the permit fee of $200. An inspector will contact you and set up a pre-opening inspection. Upon finding that you have sufficient compliance with Davis County’s Electronic Smoking Device Regulation you will then be issued a permit.