• 22 S. State St. Clearfield, UT 84015
  • Main : (801) 525-5000
  • M-F 8am to 5pm

Nutrition

Major causes of death and disease are related to poor nutrition and a sedentary lifestyle. In order to address these issues, the US Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture released Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans

Key Recommendations

  • Focus on Fruits. Eat a variety of fruits-whether fresh or frozen. For a 2,000-calorie diet you will need 2 cups of fruit each day.

  • Vary Your Veggies. Eat more dark green veggies, orange veggies, beans, and peas. Americans should consume 2 ½ cups per day.

  • Get your calcium-rich foods. Get 3 cups of low-fat or fat-free milk or milk products every day.

  • Make half your grains whole. Eat at least 3 ounces of whole-grain cereals, breads, crackers, rice, or pasta every day.

  • Go lean with protein. Choose lean meats and poultry. Bake it, broil it, or grill it.

  • Limit fat, salt, and sugar intake. Read the Nutrition Facts label on foods.
fruits_veggies_more_matters

Copyright © Davis County Government. All Rights Reserved

New Year's Day

Wednesday, Jan 01

Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday

Monday, Jan 20

President's Day

Monday, Feb 17

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25

Independence Day (Observed)

Friday, Jul 03

Pioneer Day

Friday, Jul 24

Labor Day

Monday, Sep 07

Veterans' Day

Wednesday, Nov 11

Thanksgiving

Thursday, Nov 26 & Friday, Nov 27

Christmas Day

Friday, Dec 25

Christmas Eve (Close at 2pm)

Friday, Dec 25

New Years Eve (Close at 2pm)

Thursday, Dec 31