Elements of the Davis County CDBG Program

The Consolidated Plan

Davis County is responsible for the development, administration, and implementation of this Five-Year Consolidated Plan (Plan) in accordance with the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program guidelines. The CDBG program is used for the benefit of low and moderate income households. The Plan assesses the needs of Davis County in areas such as: housing, economic development, job creation, senior citizen and youth programs, lead-based paint hazards, ADA requirements, public utilities, curb, gutter, sidewalks, and streets. The Plan is also used to address the needs of affordable housing as a method of improving low and moderate income areas of the County, and to provide home ownership opportunities for low and moderate income families. This plan covers the five-year period from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016. This Plan only addresses CDBG funding, as this is the only entitlement funding Davis County receives from the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

Davis County's designation as an entitlement community brings responsibility to support the goals and objectives for participating municipalities. The eleven municipalities that form the Urban County include Bountiful, West Bountiful, North Salt Lake, Woods Cross, Centerville, Farmington, Kaysville, Syracuse, West Point, Clinton and Sunset along with the unincorporated areas of the County. Clearfield and Layton are entitlement communities and participate in the CDBG program on their own, while Fruit Heights and South Weber chose not to participate in the Davis Urban County program. Each of these jurisdictions has a unique personality and ambience that is extremely important to the people who live there. Community decisions are not made lightly and the impact of any decision is weighed with the good of the community in mind.

Citizen Participation Plan

The County has drafted a Citizen Participation Plan as part of the Consolidated Plan process.

The plan also provides for technical assistance to groups representative of persons of low and moderate income in preparing proposals. In fact, the Planning staff meets with each applicant agency to refine projects for better proposals and also to answer any questions regarding regulations and processes prior to submittal.

The County and the municipalities all have active citizen processes ongoing for different activities within the jurisdictions.

Planning, Process, Coordination and Institutional Structure

The County is governed by three Commissioners who maintain final approval authority over all CDBG projects undertaken within the Urban County CDBG program. In addition, each jurisdiction approves those projects sponsored by their respective cities through their individual processes. County CDBG grants are administered through the Davis County Planning Department (Planning). The County works closely with many agencies to provide a useful grant program for the residents of the County. Some of these agencies include the Davis Community Housing Authority, all included municipalities, and various businesses and nonprofit agencies operating within the County.

Contact Information

Physical Address
Davis County Admin Building
61 South Main Street (Suite 304)
Farmington, Utah 84025

Mailing Address
Davis County Economic Development
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah 84025

Phone Numbers
(801) 451-3279 - Economic Dev.
(801) 451-3237 - Tourism
(801) 451-3281 - Fax


Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(except legal holidays)

Copyright © 2015 Davis County Government