Meet the Sheriff

Sheriff Kelly V. Sparks—a former Davis County Sheriff’s Office deputy and long-term law enforcement professional—was elected in 2018 and sworn into office in January 2019. 

Sheriff Sparks began his law enforcement career with Davis County Sheriff’s Office in 1983, at the Davis County Jail. Upon graduation from the Utah Police Academy and Weber State Paramedic School, he worked in Patrol as a deputy sheriff/paramedic. During his 23-year career with Davis County Sheriff’s Office, Sparks served in a variety of special assignments to include SWAT commander, hostage negotiator, defensive tactics instructor, EMT instructor, public information officer, and, for four years, he served as Chief Deputy. He was also a flight paramedic for Intermountain Life Flight. 

Sparks spent two years as the director of Weber State University’s Police Academy, after which he was appointed as the deputy director of the Utah Department of Public Safety’s Peace Officer Standards and Training division.   

Sparks is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, and has a Bachelor of Science in Sociology and a Master in Criminal Justice—both degrees were completed at Weber State University. 

Sparks is a life-long resident of Davis County and, when he’s not working, he’s enjoying the blessings of his wife, children and grandchildren.


Sheriff Kelly Sparks-sm

Executive Administration

    Kelly V. Sparks

Chief Deputy of Law Enforcement 
    Andrew Oblad

Chief Deputy of Corrections
     Arnold Butcher

Chief Deputy of Administration
Susan Poulsen

Contact Information

Physical Address
800 West State Street
Farmington, Utah 84025

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah 84025-0618

Correctional Facility/Inmate Mailing Address
P.O. Box 130
Farmington, Utah 84025-0130

Work Center Physical Address
883 West Clark Lane
Farmington, Utah

Phone Numbers
Sheriff Administration
(801) 451-4100 :: Main
(801) 451-4167 :: Fax

Corrections Administration
(801) 451-4200 :: Main
(801) 451-4225 :: Fax

Non-Emergency Dispatch

(801) 451-4150

Monday – Friday
7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
(except county holidays)


Media Inquiries 

Copyright © 2015 Davis County Government